The one about Spices and the Like

Alright, I don’t think I’m going to get any sleep without bragging about my sudden improvement in cooking skills, my pepper chicken chettinad, and my 100$ saute pan.

Yes, I own a 100$ Calphalon One Saute Pan, a late night purchase on a day when my cooking had to be thrown out, and I absolutely don’t regret it. (I came across this by reviews from professional chefs, btw.) I definitely recommend it for folk like me who are just starting cooking, although it’s expensive: simply because it cooks so evenly that you can’t get it wrong. I haven’t had a failed cooking since I got this pan. It’s also semi-non-stick, in the sense that it cleans up easily. The 2-quart version is just the right size for bachelors cooking for two meals.

I also want to give a shout-out to VahRehVah.com, an Indian cooking site. Apart from a great collection of recipes in video, the chef, Sanjay Thumma, gives lots of explanation on why he does stuff, and also has tutorials for things you otherwise can’t figure out easily. (how to chop onions, how to undress a chicken, how to debone a chicken; for practice I made my pepper chicken chettinad from a whole chicken fryer, and ended up using all of the above.)

Cooking might just be my way of structured procrastination (link via Jigar), and I’m thoroughly enjoying it.

3 Responses to The one about Spices and the Like

  1. anshul says:

    Have you heard of nibbledish? It’s a CC licensed recipe site… I don’t cook so I don’t know if anything there is any good…

  2. Sushmita says:

    Did you at least wash the pan later?? :)

    Dunno how I came upon this blog entry…

Leave a Reply

