The one with the Full Disclore, Episode 2

I had never paid attention to Orkut’s feature of allowing images in scraps. Now that I notice it, I realize you can do exactly the same thing as in Episode 1, but with slightly more serious consequences.

Post a scrap with an image hosted yourself, into your own scrapbook: and you can track IP addresses of visitors to your scrapbook, irrespective of their privacy settings.

Post a scrap with an image hosted yourself, into your friend’s scrapbook: and you can track IP addresses of visitors to his—or to make it more interesting, her—scrapbook, irrespective of anybody’s privacy settings. Do it carefully enough, and they’ll never know.

Imagine how useful this would be to the elite community of Orkut Stalkers. Imagine understanding the competition for your girl, imagine understanding her popularity (and hence your chances), imagine knowing who likes who, and possibly being the only person with that information.

Moral of the story: don’t trust a scrap from me.

The solution from Orkut’s side would be simple: “This scrap contains images. Display images below.”

(Btw, a simple exercise left over from Episode 1: track people who read your blog using feed readers. I swear I have never tried it. Although, I don’t promise to never try it in the future.)

7 Responses to The one with the Full Disclore, Episode 2

  1. Preyas says:

    “Imagine understanding the competition for your girl, imagine understanding her popularity (and hence your chances), imagine knowing who likes who, and possibly being the only person with that information.”

    Or imagine actually going out into the real world and talking to a chick.

  2. Arnie says:

    @Preyas: Hey, we’re talking of Theoretical Romance. Theoretical Romancists don’t stoop down so low as to work in Applied Romance.

  3. Jayanth says:

    @Arnie, Preyas: Not even in their imaginations!

  4. anshul says:

    Theoretically speaking, you can do better than that… Create an open social/ facebook app… Add it to your profile and get your friends to sign up for it… Now you can track how many times their full profiles were opened!

  5. ochod says:

    erhm, arnie could you put a scrap in my account and tell me if any girl stalks me?

  6. Obel says:

    errr… I once wondered about this and put up a beacon (that, I believe, is the technical jargon) as my profile photo in gmail chat. To figure out if I could track who is online and who is not! :D

    as expected, google goes to the beacon url just once to cache the photo for all further use. :(

    incidentally, I am coming ol after about 2 months and your blog is the first one I read! :)

  7. Arnie says:

    @Obel: 2 months! My last record might have been 2 hours. Oh wait, I probably checked my mail on my phone during the time. 2 minutes should be right.

Leave a Reply

