The one with the Curiosity

Often, when you register on a website, they ask you this question, “How did you hear about us?” A problem with web-pages is, that tone doesn’t get conveyed properly. It might make more sense to ask, “How did you hear about us!?”

I have been trying out Ekiga recently, and decided to purchase an SIP PC-to-phone account. I chose SIP over Skype, simply because it doesn’t restrict me to one provider, offers better rates, and is non-proprietary. Ekiga recommends Diamondcard as its PC-to-phone provider, and they offer fairly competitive rates.

I registered on Saturday night, and I was informed that I will be contacted by a customer care representative to activate my account — of course, I had to wait till a weekday.

And when this guy called, he very casually asks me where I stayed, what’s my mobile number, and finally, “How did you hear about us!?”

3 Responses to The one with the Curiosity

  1. P says:

    Umm… how is this related to the President? :-)

  2. dpgodct.od says:

    Skype offers phone-to-pc-to-phone. Very useful if your provider charges you for long-distance incoming, mine does.

  3. arnstein says:

    @P: whoops.. initially I had a line at the end of the post, where I had reasons to believe that that customer care rep was the president of diamondcard… then I felt maybe I remembered his name wrong.. and I didn’t want to get into any legal trouble because of writing that :P, so I deleted the line.

Leave a Reply

