The one after The last one

I’ve ordered a Lenovo X200 with a solid state drive. Woohoo! I’m going to get the world’s best ultraportable. Cost: $1788, after tax. (It’s also the 4-cell battery version, so it is in fact lighter than the MacBook Air. It is probably the lightest usable laptop on the planet. It’s more powerful than the X300/301, but has slightly less battery life.)

So dear CERN scientists: please wait for about two weeks.

Actually this time, Murphy was on my side. I got my last SoC installment yesterday. Had everything gone perfectly, I would’ve bought my laptop yesterday. But today Lenovo.com came up with new offers for upto 30% discounts. I did place an order yesterday, for an X200, but without the SSD.

What went wrong yesterday?

What had gone wrong was that Dad and Mom thought that since I was going to be earning in dollars, my old wallet wasn’t big enough. So before I left India, they bought me a new wallet… which was quite big.

What had gone wrong, was that yesterday during class my wallet fell off. (Big wallet in small pocket.)

What had gone wrong was that I called up GE and got my SoC card suspended, before finding my wallet again.

What had gone wrong was that I got my SoC money while my card was still suspended, and I was having trouble with GE unsuspending it.

What had gone wrong was that I made a booking yesterday while my card was still suspended.

What had gone wrong was that lenovo didn’t tell me that the payment failed. (Or perhaps was waiting to try again.)

What had gone wrong was that I forgot to apply my student’s discounts on my order.

What had gone wrong was that when I called up lenovo today to apply a students discount, the guy said “Ok, I’m applying it”, and I lost phone network.

What had gone wrong was that the next time I called, the sales guy (this time a call center in India) just told me that he’ll cancel my order and that I should order again.

3 Responses to The one after The last one

  1. arnstein says:

    *REFRESH*
    Aww, still In Process
    *REFRESH*
    Aww, still in Process
    *REFRESH*
    Aww, still in Process

  2. Lakshmi says:

    hehehhehe… so like u my arnie varnie:)

  3. arnstein says:

    dammit. Lenovo comes up with an X200s, which starts at 2.4 lbs o_0, which is about 0.6 lbs lighter than my X200 (my X200 is expected to arrive on Monday.)

Leave a Reply

