RediffBol-prpl 0.2.0

Yaay, I coded a nearly-fully functional Protocol plugin in just about a week (0.2.0 is now released)! All thanks to the Binu Paul‘s RTalk, this version uses the proprietary RBol protocol, instead of the older HTTP protocol that I had used in my older version. I had got queries regarding my first version (which I had officially *released* last week), so I expect that there are actually a few people out there who use RediffBol. I would consider the last 24*7 hours well-spent if even one person uses it :)

This version seems to be nearly bug-free, very stable. I don’t use my Rediffmail account for chatting, but am definitely looking forward for friends on it, so that even I can use my plugin :D (add me on arn_2000 AT rediffmail DOT com). As a matter of fact, till date I have never opened the official RediffBol client, since it does not even run using wine under linux. All testing and experimentation was done using RTalk.

There’s this other reason as to why its useful for me, and maybe many others who have migrated from Rediffmail to other mail clients. Yep, you guessed it, it informs you when you receive new mail!

Further reading: Project homepage at http://rediffbol-prpl.sourceforge.net/. Especially read the section on what works and what does not work.

Also see Binu Paul’s posts on RTalk at http://bpaulstechblog.blogspot.com/2007_08_01_archive.html

5 Responses to RediffBol-prpl 0.2.0

  1. amol says:

    nice post buddy,

  2. […] purpose of using C++ in the first place. But I definitely have done that in the past when writing rediffbol-prpl. I don’t know know how easy or hard it is to export C++ classes to, say, python […]

  3. […] purpose of using C++ in the first place. But I definitely have done that in the past when writing rediffbol-prpl. I don’t know know how easy or hard it is to export C++ classes to, say, python […]

  4. […] finally fixed rediffbol-prpl protocol plugin for pidgin. I have blogged about the earlier versions. About two months ago, Rediff made some weird protocol changes to their […]

Leave a Reply

